PENALTY RANGES FOR DWI

The penalties for a DWI charge in Texas depend partially on whether you have previously been convicted of DWI. If you have been arrested for DWI in Texas, you are facing the following penalties:

 

DWI – 1st

 

  • 3 days – 180 days in Jail

  • $3,000 Fine or $6,000 if BAC is over .15

  • License Suspension up to 2 years

  • DWI Education Program

  • Possible Ignition Interlock Device

 

DWI – 2nd

 

  • 1 month – 1 year in Jail

  • Up to a $4,500 Fine

  • License Suspension up to 2 years

  • DWI Education Program

  • Ignition Interlock Device

 

DWI – 3rd

 

  • 2 years – 10 years in Prison

  • Up to a $10,000 Fine

  • License Suspension up to 2 years

  • Annual Surcharge up to $2,000 for 3 years

  • DWI Education Program

  • Possible Ignition Interlock Device

 

DWI with Child Under 15 Years Old

 

  • Up to 2 years in State Jail

  • Up to a $10,000 fine

  • License Suspension up to 2 years

  • Annual Surcharge up to $2,000 for 3 years

  • DWI Education Program

  • Possible Ignition Interlock Device

 

An experienced DWI lawyer may be able to help you avoid a DWI conviction. Even if you are found guilty of DWI, an experienced DWI attorney may be able to keep you out of jail and minimize the other possible penalties that you face. If you have been arrested for DWI in Texas, contact the Loker Law Firm today to discuss your case with an experienced Texas DWI lawyer.

© 2015 Loker Law Firm, PPLC